Your browser does not support JavaScript!
About Us

The Department of Physics is located in the Physics Building, dedicated 1992, on the hillside within the ocean-front campus of Hsi-Tzu Bay near downtown Kaohsiung. The building houses most research laboratories, classrooms, and offices of faculty, visiting scholars, graduate students, postdoctoral scientists, and administrative staff. The department began with an undergraduate program in 1986 and has since expanded to include the master’s in 1991 and doctorates in 1996. As of 2015, it has 20 full-time faculty members and the enrollment nears 350, with 206 undergraduates, 83 master’s students, and 36 doctorates. The department actively seeks promising young scientists and fervently recruits experienced scholars to lead visionary research. Funded mainly by the government, the department advocates excellence both in teaching and in research, focusing on semiconductor physics, optoelectronics, magnetism and superconductivity, low-temperature physics, computational physics and energy-related sciences and technologies, mostly condensed-matter physics oriented. Its research laboratories are affiliated with the university’s core-facilities and research centers, all equipped with cutting-edge scientific instruments. Powered by an annual research funding of circa 2 million US dollars, the department publishes more than 80 academic papers each year in prestigious international scientific journals. Meanwhile, the department’s curricula have grown to its current level of maturity by adapting to the needs of constantly changing time in meeting the evolving student demands with frequently updated pedagogical tools and methodologies